A Little Bird Told Me a Story with Storybird !

tumblr_l7ygd7d4041qz8oklo1_500

In the context of a Computer Application course at University, the teacher asked us to explore and use the web tool of our choice from a list he had written on the board. I chose to look at StoryBird. I began by exploring what other people had done with this website to get a broad idea of the tool. At first, I thought it was really nice. The stories people wrote were looking good and kind of inspired me. I signed in and began to invent my own story.

Overall, the tool was great and I have been able to publish my story on the website, so people could read, comment, like and share it.

A point I disliked, however, is that you have to choose a set of images from an artist and that you are stuck with these images to write your story. Sometimes, it gets annoying not to find the perfect image to fit your idea.

storybird-2ail7e4

Anyway.

StoryBird had been designed for parents who desired to write stories with their children. However, more and more teachers are beginning to use StoryBird in their classes. For example, Stephen Davis, an 8th grade teacher from California tried and used StoryBird with his students. According to him, StoryBird gives students the chance to express inner feelings that they could not express in another way through stories and images . I totally agree with what he said as I experienced it myself.

I think that writing a story is a good way to get students to use their creativity and their imagination. It also brings a feelings of pride to invent something that is meaningful to you. Students will like to write about something they know or experienced and share it with their peers, their parents and the world because they can publish it on the Internet and get feedback and comments.

Another teacher, this time from Ontario, used StoryBird in her class. Aviva Dunsigner reports that she had students make a story so they could apply what they learned about story elements into a real context. I think this is a very good way to make learning more concrete and more interesting to students. I would definitely to the same kind of activity with my classes.

Writing stories is not only a way to practice writing skills, but also a way to practice reading skills as you may want to have students read each other’s story.

On her blog, Erin Klein answers to the questions of a certain Marty who has trouble keeping the motivation of his students when writing a story with StoryBird, because students often don’t find the words to fit the artwork provided. Here are my two favorite answers from Erin:

1. She suggests to have students write a story before actually using StoryBird. It becomes easier then to chunk their sentences and modify them to fit the images rather than starting from zero and building something.

2. Do a model with the whole class before having them work individually.

I definitely liked these two solutions because I think it easily triggers students’ creativity before actually doing the task. It becomes easier for them and easier for the teacher to manage 30 students because they know what to do.

I truly plan to use StoryBird in my future classes, because I enjoyed my personal experience with it and because there are many ways it can be used pedagogically.

** Here is a link to my first story made with StoryBird

Leave a Reply

